Skip to content
April 17, 2011 / marvinhawkins

Happy Birthday to me, Game Prototype to you!

I’m excited to finally share my game prototype with the world at large. One of my original goals was to complete a playable version of the game by my Birthday. While the game is very much a Work in Progress [WIP], I can show what I have been working on. This prototype explores many of the design decisions that I wanted to explore.  It makes me a bit nervous to put this out, but doing so makes it a real thing. I’m now accountable to each of you that are reading this blog. The game will get better, because I don’t want to disappoint you, the reader.

While this prototype isn’t meant to be a complete game, it does feature a complete game loop. The player can maneuverer around, shoot, and die. The level also features enemy planes and a boss at the end of the level.  The red Circles represent powerups. When you pick them up, they give you more firepower. Once you defeat the boss, the game ends.

Premise: Skyhawks is a top down shooter. The game takes its beats from Capcom classics like the 19xx arcade games. I want to recapture the fun that went with this fast paced gameplay. Hopefully this demo captures a bit of that.

Unity3D Game, Air Attack HD is my current point of reference   for creating a game like this. I’ve worked on many unfinished game projects. Skyhawks   represents the most complete game that I have made to date. I’d love feedback on the feel of the game. Try it out, let me know what you think in the comments.

To play the game, you’ll need to install Unity’s web player. It’s quick and easy. Similar to installing flash. You’ll find a link below.

http://unity3d.com/webplayer/

Link to the Game:

http://marvinhawkins.com/Skyhawk.html

Game Controls: 

W = Forward

S = BackWard

A = Left

D = Right

Space = Fire Bullet

Game Rules

  • Pick up the Red power ups for more firepower
  • Avoid the orange enemy missiles
  • Destroy the Boss to complete the level
Note: The multi colored boxes generate enemies, The gray boxes and spheres control the direction of the enemy ships’ movements. They won’t be visible in the final game.
