Skip to content
August 30, 2012 / marvinhawkins

Indie Game Development Business Stuff

As I said in the last blog post, I’m a tad optimistic about the state of games. Despite recent events, I still think the tools are in place and the barrier is low. In the coming months, I will be using this blog to chronicle my own experiences. My mission: Finish a sale-able product and gather a team. I also want to create a sustainable tech/game business. The nice thing about the internet is there are a ton of resources related to starting a business or growing the community. My internet research is your bounty. I present a ton of links related to that very topic. I have found these articles, videos, and experiences very helpful. Have any favorites? Share them in the comments.

Video on setting up a company in a non traditional place (Philladelphia)

How To Grow A Dev Community In Non Traditional Places

Really nice article. Highly applicable hear in Chicago.

http://www.gamasutra.com/view/feature/176253/want_to_be_surrounded_by_a_.php

Advice on Kick Starter Funding

http://www.gamasutra.com/view/feature/176187/how_camouflaj_saved_rpubliques_.php

Making Games is not easy, and is often misunderstood

http://www.gamasutra.com/view/news/176492/Opinion_The_trials_of_the_game_developer.php

How NOT to start a game business

Harsh lessons from the project Zomboid team.

Tips on Starting a Game Business

Bonus points for being a Chicago Game Developer.

Leave a Reply

